Board of directors

Dr Dan Norton, AO - Chairman 

Dr Dan Norton AO is an experienced Chairman and CEO who has worked in the electricity and transport industries, in central government agencies and in international commodity marketing. He has first-hand experience across a broad range of areas including public policy, electricity, transport (including ports and rail), privatisation and corporatisation, financial management reform, education, water and sewerage services, health science research, health services, information and communications technology, agricultural marketing and public sector management.

Dr Norton is also Chairman of WINconnect, a Board Member of Infrastructure Australia, Chairman of the Executive Steering Committee Royal Hobart Hospital Redevelopment, and a Director of his consulting company Trinitas.

His former positions include: Interim Chairman of Forestry Tasmania, Chairman of Tasmanian Ports Corporation (TasPorts), Chairman of Menzies Research Institute Tasmania, Chairman of the National Electricity Market Management Company (NEMMCO), Deputy Chairman of Tasmanian Water & Sewerage Corporation (TasWater), Deputy Chairman of Aurora Energy, CEO & Managing Director of both Aurora Energy and Hydro Electric Corporation, Secretary of Department of Premier and Cabinet (Tas) and Deputy Secretary of Department of Treasury and Finance (Tas).

Peter McIntyre

Peter McIntyre was appointed to the Board in November 2016. Peter was previously employed at TransGrid, where he served as its Managing Director for six years. Prior to that he held several executive positions there, with responsibilities including regulatory strategy, revenue reset, customer engagement, asset management, network planning and system operations.

Peter is a past Deputy Chairman of the Energy Networks Association, past Chairman of Grid Australia and past Deputy Chairman of the Australian Power Institute.

Peter holds a BSc, a BE (Hons.) in electrical engineering and an MBA. He is a Fellow of Engineers Australia, the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Institute of Energy.

Dr Jane Sargison

Dr Jane Sargison was appointed a Director of the TasNetworks Board in 2014. Jane is also the Managing Director of JSA Consulting Engineers. Her recent roles have included Director of TasWater, the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, Southern Water and Australian Institute of Energy, Member of the AusIndustry Clean Technology Innovation Committee, Tasmanian Rhodes Scholarship Selection Committee and the National Mechanical Board of Engineers Australia.

Her former roles have included Deputy Director of the Centre for Renewable Energy and Power Systems and Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Tasmania.

Dr Sargison was a Rhodes Scholar for Tasmania and 2011 National Professional Engineer of the Year.

Joanne Doyle

Joanne Doyle was appointed a Director of the TasNetworks Board in July 2016. Joanne is also a Partner of WLF Accounting and Advisory and is an audit and advisory specialist having worked in the industry for over 30 years.

Joanne is a Trustee on the Solicitors’ Trust, a Registered Company Auditor, Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and a past director of Civil Construction Services Corporation.

 Roger Gill

Roger Gill was appointed a Director of the TasNetworks Board in November 2017. He has broad experience in the electricity, water, agriculture, transport, infrastructure development and construction sectors. He is Managing Director of his Hydro Focus international consulting company specialising in renewable energy in Australia, Asia, Africa and South America.

Roger is also a Vice President of the International Hydropower Association (UK) and a Non-Executive Director of Pacific Hydro (Aust).

His former corporate governance roles have included Non-Executive Director of Tasmanian Irrigation, Tasmanian Railway (TasRail), Tasmanian Water and Sewerage Corporation (Southern Region) and member of the Tasmanian Renewable Energy Industry Development Board.